Medical: Louisiana House Bill 149 (2015) amended Louisiana House Bills 553,697,698 (2022)
Medical sales: The State Does Not Provide Sales Data
The pharmacies filled more than 199,000 “prescriptions” across the state, which is about five times the number filled at this time last year. The figures indicate the state’s nine pharmacies are doing millions of dollars in sales each quarter.
- 9 Dispensary Licenses
- 2 Cultivator/Manufacturer Licenses
Texas – CBD ONLY
Arkansas – Medical ONLY
Mississippi – Medical ONLY
- Banks: 111
- Credit Unions: 349
- The commissioner shall not do any of the following: (1) Prohibit or otherwise discourage a state bank or credit union from providing financial services to a cannabis-related legitimate business or service provider solely because the account holder is a cannabis-related legitimate business, or is an employee, owner, or operator of a cannabis-related legitimate business.
- Licensed physicians must make a medical marijuana recommendation, including dosage, on behalf of a patient. Current forms of medical marijuana include: flower, capsules, extracts, gummies, metered-dose inhalers, oils, pills, sprays, suppositories, tinctures, topical oils, lotions, transdermal patches. Dosage amounts authorized by a registered physician are under the discretion of the physician, patient and medical marijuana pharmacy.
- As of January 2022, registered patients and caregivers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana flower every 14 days. 2.5 ounces every 14 days is the maximum total limit for patient purchases on cannabis products – capsules, extracts, gummies, oils, etc.
- Patients 18 and older must present a valid government issued photo identification card for medical marijuana purchases at registered pharmacies. Louisiana’s medical marijuana system excludes medical marijuana cards since physician prescriptions are directly received by the licensed medical marijuana pharmacies.
- Minors under the age of 18 must have an authorized recommendation for medical marijuana by a licensed physician and be accompanied by a caregiver for purchases.
As of August 2022 Lawmakers and the state’s Governor approved a second license for the New Orleans region making it the only region with two licenses. Regulators also informed seven of the nine pharmacies (dispensaries), that they were each eligible to apply to open one “satellite” location. A pharmacy becomes eligible to open a second location once it reaches 3,500 registered patients. In the second quarter of 2022, Louisiana listed nearly 35,000 patients, roughly triple the number compared to the second quarter of 2021. The pharmacies filled more than 199,000 “prescriptions” across the state, which is about five times the number filled at this time last year. The figures indicate the state’s nine pharmacies are doing millions of dollars in sales each quarter. The increase in patients is attributed to changes in the states medical marijuana law that permit smokable flower products and make it easier for doctors to recommend cannabis to patients.
State Cannabis Regulatory Authorities
Louisiana Department of Public Health
- 628 N. Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 70802
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy
- 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, 70809
- 225-925-6496, firstname.lastname@example.org
State Banking Regulatory Authority
Office of Financial Institutions:
8660 United Plaza Boulevard, 2nd Floor
Baton Rouge, LA 70809-7024
Phone: (225) 925 – 4660
Fax: (225) 925 – 4524
OFI advisory on Marijuana Related Investments
“LOUISIANA OFFICE OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS (OFI) ISSUES ADVISORY ON MARIJUANA-RELATED INVESTMENTS”
Last Updated: October 2022