North Dakota Compassionate Care Act (2016)
State law requires the NDDoH to register no more than two manufacturing facilities unless the NDDoH determines additional entities are necessary to increase access to usable marijuana by registered qualifying patients and registered designated caregivers. Two manufacturing facilities received their registration certificates in fiscal year 2019. One manufacturing facility, Pure Dakota LLC, is in Bismarck. One manufacturing facility, Grassroots Cannabis (legal name: GR Vending ND, LLC), is in Fargo.
State law identifies the NDDoH is to register no more than eight dispensaries unless the NDDoH determines additional entities are necessary to increase access to usable marijuana by registered qualifying patients and registered designated caregivers. The NDDoH established eight regions within the state where dispensaries would be located. Regions are comprised of a 50-mile radius from selected cities. The first dispensary opened in Fargo in February 2019. Additional dispensaries opened during the 2019 calendar year with the eighth, and final, dispensary opening in December 2019 in Dickinson. During fiscal year 2021, the dispensaries located in Bismarck and Williston had a transfer of ownership. Also, due to a merger, the names of the dispensaries located in Devils Lake, Dickinson, Jamestown, and Minot were changed.
The eight dispensary names and locations follow:
- Curaleaf in Devils Lake
- Curaleaf in Dickinson
- Curaleaf in Jamestown
- Curaleaf in Minot
- Pure Dakota Health in Bismarck
- Pure Dakota Health in Fargo
- Pure Dakota Health in Williston
- We-Mend (Strive Life) in Grand Forks
- Montana – Medical and Adult Use
- Minnesota – Medical ONLY
- South Dakota – Medical ONLY
- Canada – Medical and Adult Use
- North Dakota Division of Medical Marijuana
- Credit Unions: 22
- Banks: 68
Patients must be 19 years of age or older to purchase medical marijuana. Registered patients and qualified caregivers may purchase within a 30-day period:
- 2.5 ounces of marijuana flower in combustible form.
- For enhanced amounts authorized by a practitioner, a patient or qualified caregiver may not purchase more than 6 ounces of marijuana in combustible form.
- 4,000 milligrams of THC for a cannabinoid concentrate or medical cannabinoid product.
Six (6) ounces of marijuana flower in a 30 day period is the maximum that a qualified patient or registered caregiver may purchase. Minors under the age of 19 must have a designated caregiver and are limited to pediatric medical marijuana which may not contain a maximum concentration or amount of tetrahydrocannabinol of more than 6%. Minors may not possess marijuana flower.
As of October 19, 2021 there were over 6,569 registered medical marijuana patients.
An individual may possess more than one (1) designated caregiver registry identification card (state law allows an individual to possess up to five designated caregiver cards). Also, individuals may be considered an agent of multiple registered manufacturing facilities/dispensaries.
A qualifying patient application requires a health care provider to complete a written certification. A health care provider must select at least one of the debilitating medical conditions authorized in state law. A health care provider may select more than one debilitating medical condition on a written certification.
State Cannabis Regulatory Authority
Division of Medical Marijuana
600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 301
Bismarck ND 58505-0200
Questions can also be emailed to:
State Banking Regulatory Authority
North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions
1200 Memorial Highway
Bismarck, ND 58504
Subscribe to News Items: