Last Updated: April 2022

Delaware Green Check Verified



Delaware has seven (7) medical marijuana compassion centers throughout the state. A full list of the compassion centers and their locations is included here.


  • Pennsylvania – Medical ONLY
  • New Jersey – Medical and Adult Use
  • Maryland – Medical ONLY

Regulatory Agencies

  • Banks: 18
  • Credit Unions: 17

Patients may purchase up to three (3) ounces of usable marijuana every 14 days, for a total of six (6) ounces per month. Usable marijuana means the dried leaves and flowers of the marijuana plant and any mixture or preparation of those dried leaves and flowers, including but not limited to tinctures, ointments, and other preparations including medical marijuana oil. Edible products may not exceed 10mg of Delta-9 THC per serving.

Patients must be 18 or older for medical marijuana purchases. Minors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a registered caregiver. Designated caregivers must:

  • Be at least 21 years of age unless the person is a parent or legal guardian of a minor who is a qualifying patient
  • Agree to assist with a patient’s medical use of marijuana
  • Not have been convicted of an excluded felony offense
  • Assist no more than five (5) qualifying patients with their medical use of marijuana

Medical practitioners may include a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant. If the qualifying patient is younger than 18 years of age, the health-care practitioner must be a physician who is a pediatric neurologist, pediatric gastroenterologist, pediatric oncologist, pediatric psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician, or pediatric palliative care specialist.

A designated caregiver registered pursuant to §4908A of this title may possess for the purpose of administering, and may administer to a minor qualifying patient medical marijuana oil in a school bus and on the grounds or property of the preschool, or primary or secondary school in which a minor qualifying patient is enrolled. The designated caregiver shall not be a school nurse or other school employee hired or contracted by a school unless he or she is a parent or legal guardian of the minor qualifying patient, and said parent or legal guardian possesses no more than the number of doses prescribed per day of medical marijuana oil which is kept at all times on their person. Provided further, this exception shall only apply within the physical boundaries of the State of Delaware.

State Cannabis Regulatory Authority

Medical Marijuana Act Oversight Committee:

Program Updates:




Questions can also be emailed to:

State Banking Regulatory Authority

Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Office of the State Bank Commissioner
1110 Forrest Avenue Dover
Dover, DE 19904

(302) 739-4235

(302) 739-3609