Last Updated: April, 2022



  • Alaska Marijuana License Search
  • A licensed marijuana retail store may not conduct business on or allow a consumer to access the retail marijuana store’s licensed premises between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. each day.


  • Canada (Medical and Adult Use)

Regulatory Agencies

  • Banks: 13
  • Credit Unions: 20

Alaska’s cannabis industry has a residency requirement for business owners proving residency in the state for 1 full calendar year. This is to meet the obligation of Alaska’s Permanent Fund Dividend, which is a state dividend paid out to Alaskan residents derived from surplus revenues gained from the state’s oil and gas industries.

3 AAC 306.355. Limit on quantity sold

(a) A retail marijuana store may not sell to any one person (21 and older) per day:

  1. more than one ounce of usable marijuana;
  2. more than seven grams of marijuana concentrate for inhalation; or
  3. more than 5,600 milligrams of THC in combined sales of marijuana and marijuana products.
  • THC amounts in edibles are 10mg per dose and 100mg per package.
  • Adults may possess, grow, process and transport not more than six marijuana plants, with three or fewer being mature, flowering plants.
  • Alaska allows consumption lounges where board approval of an onsite consumption endorsement is given to a licensed retail marijuana store for consumption on the marijuana retail store premises.

Municipality Opt-In:

Prior to adult use becoming legalized, Alaskan legislature has swayed in its stance on cannabis:

  • In 1986, Alaska decriminalized the possession of up to 4 ounces of marijuana (113.4 grams) in the home and up to 1 ounce (28.35 grams) outside of residences.
  • In 1990, voters approved the Alaska Marijuana Criminalization Initiative, or Ballot Measure 2. This law made possession of small amounts of marijuana a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail or a $1,000 fine.
  • Current medical marijuana use limits include:
    • No more than one (1) ounce of marijuana in usable form.
    • No more than six (6) marijuana plants, with no more than three (3) mature and flowering plants producing usable marijuana at any one time.
    • Greater than one (1) ounce quantities are allowed provided that a patient or his or her primary care-giver must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that any greater amount was medically justified to address the patient’s debilitating medical condition
  • Primary caregivers must be 18 or older.

State Cannabis Regulatory Authority


Administrative Actions/Fines:


Phone: Juneau: (907) 465-2330      Anchorage: (907) 269-0350     Fairbanks: (907) 451-2748

Questions can also be emailed to:

State Banking Regulatory Authority



News and Alerts

Money Service Businesses




550 W 7th AVE, STE 1850

Anchorage, AK 99501

Phone: (907) 269-8140

Toll-Free: (888) 925-2521

Fax: (907) 269-8146



Mailing Address

P.O. Box 110807

Juneau, AK 99811-0807

Physical Address

(No US mail delivery)

333 Willoughby AVE, 9th FL

State Office Building

Juneau, AK 99801

Phone: (907) 465-2521

Toll-Free: (888) 925-2521

Fax: (907) 465-1230

CBD and/or Hemp Regulators, etc

State of Alaska Dept of Natural Resources

550 W. 7th Ave, Ste 1360

Anchorage, AK 99501-3557

Phone:(907) 269-8400

Fax: (907)269-8901